Digging Out From Under the Pile


ALA – Day One
June 27, 2008, 4:00 pm
Filed under: 3M/NMRT log, conferences, libraryland | Tags: , ,

Technically, this is my third day in California, but yesterday and Wednesday, I got  a wonderful tour of the area from a friend of mine who lives here.  We ended up in a few places she’s never been 🙂  We spent Wednesday in the Long Beach, I got to see the Aquarium of the Pacific and touch sharks.  Later, we went to the Queen Mary and took the Haunted Encounters tour.  I didn’t see or feel anything, but my friend did get a weird picture that we discovered later that night at dinner (had on the water of Alamitos Bay, nice!).  Yesterday, we visited the Getty Villa in Malibu.  As an anthropology major in undergrad, it was fun and interesting to see all of the classical art on display.  Checking my camera, I’ve taken 334 photos in the last two days and one video.

Last night was a great time, as after I got back from Malibu and said good-bye to my friend, I went out to dinner with some librarian friends who are part of my reader’s advisory circle of acquaintances.  We discussed what’s been happening in our lives since we last saw each other, what we plan on doing during the conference, and other issues related to our careers.  Situations like this is what makes going to conferences so valuable for me.  There some things that just cannot be replicated over the Internet, though it’s a wonderful supplement to the building of those relationships 🙂

On today’s docket is registration, touching base with a few friends, and hooking up with my parents when they get in to town.  I may go to a reception or two later tonight depending on how I’m feeling as I’m still dealing with jet lag.  Waking up on my own at 6 a.m. is definitely not something I normally do 🙂

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

