Digging Out From Under the Pile


Iron Man – Review

Production Company: Marvel
Director: Jon Favreau
Stars: Robert Downey, Jr., Terrence Howard, Jeff Bridges and Gwyneth Paltrow

Rating: 4.5

Review:
I’m a summer blockbuster kind of girl, and this was a perfect kick off to this year’s summer offerings. I brushed up on my knowledge of the Iron Man mythology before going to see the movie, but I didn’t feel like it was a necessary thing to do after the movie was over. I’m not sure how long-term fans of the franchise will feel about the movie, but I found it completely accessible to those with little or no knowledge of the character.

The back-and-forth of the opening timeline was a little jarring, but overall, I think Favreau and Downey did a solid job of establishing the base character of Tony Stark. This is a guy who enjoys himself to the hilt and makes no apologies for who he is. You can take him or leave him for all that he cares, but if you’re a hot lady, he’d prefer you take him. There are some points in the beginning which make this a slightly more mature summer offering, namely the bedroom scene with Tony and Christine Everhart, a reporter trying to force Tony to comment on warmongering, as well as the battle and torture scenes in Afghanistan. As I’ve never stepped foot in a war zone, I can’t comment on their absolute realism, but I felt as if they were realistic and Favreau and company were not romanticizing combat. Stark’s friendship with Yinsen is a great piece of characterization, and allows for Tony to grow beyond the playboy mentality to where it’s no longer all about him.

I think this was a great role for Downey, and really, can you now imagine anyone else in the role? Okay, maybe Jude Law, but Downey had Tony Stark nailed. I was also pleased that Gwyneth Paltrow didn’t annoy me as much as she normally does. If you were worrying about the repeat of a Katie Holmes in Batman Begins debacle, fear not, Paltrow displays some vivacity in this role. I would go so far as to argue her signing on again to the Pepper Potts role would not be a bad thing.

Iron Man is well worth the trip to the theater.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

